top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ. J. Hanna

One on One

I have heard many stories throughout my life of the way God uses other people to speak into our lives. Sometimes my sister describes the words from God as a burning on her tongue, an intense need to say certain words that won't go away until the words are spoken. When my mom was thinking about drastically changing the direction of her life, it was through the words of the friends she'd had coffee dates with that confirmed the calling.

In my own life, I was recently talking with a friend. Over the past few weeks the conversation kept circling around to the same dilemma: what to do after college. I weighed my options. I prayed for God's clear direction. I received an answer. I prayed again. I received the same answer. I denied the clear voice telling me where to go and prayed once more for clarity.


"You of little faith."


The gentle chide eased my spirit, the correction of a child from a parent.


Then, clear as day, "You've longed for this for the last three years. Do you really think I wouldn't give it to you?"


In my spirit I fought back. This is my work. I've worked hard for this. Let me earn my place among the great literary minds.


God's response? "Why should I let my dear one struggle for something I'll freely give, that you've asked for? I want to bless you. Don't refuse my blessing."


I puzzled this through with my friend, talking over a one on one lunch. I recounted what I'd heard and what I was still struggling with. She stopped me and almost spoke, but hesitated.


In her hesitation I heard God tell me, "Listen. Her words are from me."


"I don't want to tell you what to do," my friend said.


The coming words were from God. I knew it. She felt it. "Just say it," I responded.


She took a breath. "Trust your gut. You've weighed your options. You know what to do. Take the risk."


Tears welled up in my eyes. Whether release from expectations or a physical response to truth, I'm not sure (though it's likely it was both).


Humans have been skeptics for thousands of years. I'm reminded of Gideon, who after clear words from God requested two signs with fleece (Judges 6:36-40). After the first sign went exactly as Gideon had asked, he asked a second time, and again, it was confirmation of God's word.


I've grown up as a missionary kid. My whole life up to this point has been spent living on the generosity of others, on God's blessings and preservation. It doesn't surprise me that God would call me to trust in him again. I've been dependent on him for twenty years. I don't know why I'd consider stopping now.


Unlike Gideon, my questioning wasn't due to a lack of belief in God's call. My questioning stemmed from a distrust in God's ability to keep his promises. Which, when said that plainly, I can see how silly that is. Over and over throughout the Bible God keeps his promises. Over and over throughout my own life and lives of those around me God keeps his promises. So what reason do I have (really) to distrust him?


As it is said in Hebrews 13:8, "Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever."


Lord, help me to hold onto that truth.


 

J. J. Hanna is a writer and reader who loves God and wants to help encourage others with what she knows and what she's learning. Answer her questions with a quick note and connect with her on social media. She's excited to hear from you!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page